Youth bowling does not have to start at a young age.  Many people do not start until their teens.  One way to learn how to bowling is by joining a high school bowling. I know Oklahoma has high school bowling, but not sure about other states. The teams consist of boys, girls, and/or both.  
    Unlike other high school sports, bowling does not need to be separated by gender.  Teams have a maximum of seven members. Yet, five members participate per game. If there are enough students to make another team that is allowed as long as it is an all boys or all girls team. Since there are 10 frames in one game, that is two frames per bowler. Each player goes in order. For example, if the first bowler bowls the first frame, they will also bowl the sixth frame when the order starts over. The fifth bowler is called the anchor. They will bowl the fifth and tenth frames.  In reality, this is normally the best bowler on the team. 
     Competing works just like all other sports.  High school teams meet up to bowl against each other once a week. Teams bowl eight games per meeting. This may sound like a lot, but it really is not because each bowling only bowls two frames per game. That is only about a game and half per bowler. These small contests lead up to regional and state tournaments.
    Every team is involved in a regional competition. This is where the best teams win a trip to the state tournament.  Normally there is girl winner and boy winner. So all competition is fair. If the team is mixed, they are considered a boys team. Because in most cases there are more boys than girls on the team. 




Leave a Reply.

    My Exprience

    I am been bowling since I was four.  I bowl on a league every Wednesday night. I am still learning myself. I am not a Pro, so don't think I know everything about bowling, but I know basics and what you need to know.

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All